Fixing subversion problem “Error validating server certificate”

I have faced the annoying problem that for unknown reasons I got a security exception when accessing the subversion repository for one of my Google Code projects. This used to work before, but maybe the server has been changed. However, if the certificate is not trusted subversion will ask you whether you trust the certificate and if you want to add this certifacte.

svn info https://svn.codespot.com/a/eclipselabs.org/xtext-utils/subprojects/unittesting/branches
Error validating server certificate for 'https://svn.codespot.com:443':
 - The certificate is not issued by a trusted authority. Use the
   fingerprint to validate the certificate manually!
Certificate information:
 - Hostname: *.googlecode.com
 - Valid: from Wed, 16 Feb 2011 00:27:28 GMT until Thu, 16 Feb 2012 00:37:28 GMT
 - Issuer: Google Inc, US
 - Fingerprint: 34:4b:90:e7:e3:36:81:0d:52:1f:10:c0:4c:98:66:90:4a:9e:05:c9
(R)eject, accept (t)emporarily or accept (p)ermanently?

The problem now is that even if I entered the “p” option the next time I access SVN the same exception occurs again.

My issue was solved now by cleaning the directory “~/.subversion/auth/svn.ssl.server”.

 rm ~/.subversion/auth/svn.ssl.server/*
10 thoughts on “Fixing subversion problem “Error validating server certificate”

  1. I really would think that this is just a permission problem. I guess a:
    chmod 644 ~/.subversion/auth/svn.ssl.server/*
    should also do the trick.

    Nevertheless a really annoying bug.

    Cheers,
    Richard

  2. I used to be more than happy to seek out this internet-site.I wished to thanks in your time for this excellent learn!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  3. It didnt work… I pasted the command on terminal… and after that I tried again checking out the code… didnt work :(

Leave a Reply

