MacBook Pro battery defect

After exact 2 years the battery of my MacBook Pro 17” is now defect. First indication was when I worked with Heiko Behrens two weeks ago in the evening at Hotel West in Frankfurt. We had only one power cable in the room and shared one. I was working on battery and without warning the Mac switched off. This behavior repeated unpredictable later again. Next symptom was that the Mac clicked at random times at the cursor position without interaction. I twittered this and got feedback from a colleague that there is a known problem with MacBook batteries that lead to this clicking error. He asked me if the battery has a bump. Some batteries get a bump which presses from below against some electronic interior, causing failures until total defect. At this point of time almost nothing was visible, but in the meanwhile the battery has a massive bump.

DSC00004

Unfortunately there is no guarantee on this battery. itemis already ordered a new one and I will pick it up when driving to itemis this weekend.

Leave a comment