Upgrading OSX subversion client

Running SVN from my command line for a project I originally checked out with Eclipse gave me the message

“svn: This client is too old to work with working copy ‘.’; please get a newer Subversion client”

My subversion version was 1.4.4:
> svn --version
svn, version 1.4.4 (r25188)
compiled Jun 23 2007, 08:53:30
So I downloaded the “Universal Subversion 1.6.3 Binaries for MAC OS X (32 and 64 bit)” package from CollabNet.
By default this package installs subversion to /opt/subversion. So still my old subversion installation was 1.4.4
> which svn
/usr/local/bin/svn
I edited then ~/.profile and set /opt/subversion/bin in front of my PATH:
export PATH=/opt/subversion/bin:/usr/local/bin:/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:$PATH
And finally subversion now is used in the right version:
>svn --version
svn, version 1.6.3 (r38063)
compiled Jun 23 2009, 16:38:16

Posted via email from Karsten’s Blog

11 thoughts on “Upgrading OSX subversion client

  1. Hi Karsten,

    Thanks for this blog. I was a little hesitant to upgrade to v1.6.3, but after reading your blog, I took the plunge.

    ..and the upgrade was as easy as you’ve blogged.

    Thanks

    • Hi Karsten,

      I also followed these steps to upgrade my svn client, and running svn –version gives the new version (1.6.3).

      On another hand, I am building the source code of a project using eclipse, maven, and subclipse plugings.

      However, even after having upgraded my svn client, eclipse still prints me the message “svn: This client is too old to work with working copy ‘.’; please get a newer Subversion client”.

      Any idea about what could be the problem?

      Thanks for any help!

      • Hi Jasmine,
        Eclipse has its own client. I had the problem that I could not run svn commands from the command line on projects I checked out with Eclipse. Maybe you have the problem now vice versa? Did you check out your projects from command line or other client and then try to use Eclipse to operate on? Which SVN team provider do you use? Subversive or Subclipse? With which SVN connector? I use SVN Kit, not JavaHL.
        ~Karsten

  2. Hi Karsten,

    I actually had the same problem as you (couldn’t run svn command from the command line on a project I checked out with Eclipse). But no matter what I upgraded (on eclipse or command line side), the problem remained.

    As for the tools and plugins, I also use subclipse with SVN Kit.

    If someone has the same problem as me, here is what I finally did: I downgraded my working copy so that any SVN client could understand it. I proceeded like this:
    – I downloaded the python script “change-svn-wc-format.py” (url: http://svn.collab.net/repos/svn/trunk/tools/client-side/change-svn-wc-format.py)
    – I put it in my working copy folder
    – And on the command line, I entered:
    chmod +x change-svn-wc-format.py
    ./change-svn-wc-format.py . 1.4

    I got the message “Converted WC at ‘.’ into format 8 for Subversion 1.4”. After that, it worked fine.

    Thanks anyway for your response.

    Jasmine.

  3. Pingback: Upgrading SVN Client on OSX « Effing Smart

Leave a Reply

