Eclipse DemoCamp November 26th in Frankfurt

Next week, Thursday Nov. 26th, there will be an Eclipse DemoCamp in Frankfurt, starting 05:30 PM until 09:00 PM at Saalbau Gallus. I am happy that my current project schedule allows me being in Frankfurt at this time. There are already over 40 registered attendees, this is quite impressing. There are 6 interesting talks presented at this DemoCamp:

  • Using Eclipse TMF in a large scale modeling and implementation project from Dr. Nikolai Busse (Deutsche Börse Systems AG). The project Nikolai is talking about is the one I am working on most of this year. I already had the opportunity to talk about this project at the CodeGeneration 2009 and W-JAX 09 conference. Nikolai will no doubt give an really interesting talk about an extraordinary project.
  • redView – dynamische Views für Business Applications from Ekkehard Gentz. Ekke has created a fascinating project using technologies like EMF, CDO, openArchitectureWare, UML2. Ekke is also a member on the openArchitectureWare team and it is always a pleasure to talk with him. Last time we met was last week at the W-JAX, but unfortunately I had to leave on thursday before his talk. Now I have the chance to see it finally.
  • JPA (EclipseLink) in OSGI Anwendungen from Karsten Voigt (IBM Global Business Services). EclipseLink will be the reference implementation of the JPA 2.0 standard. This framework has already a long history and many experience was put into it. Although Hibernate is most widely spreaded I think that EclipseLink will play a bigger role in the future. EclipseLink has smooth integration with EMF with Teneo, which makes Domain Driven Design with JPA persistence really easy.
  • Eclipse Code Recommenders – How much can the IDE predict what you will write in the next seconds? from Marcel Bruch (TU Darmstadt). Marcel presents his research project where a more intelligent way for producing IDE proposals is developed. Sounds interesting.
  • Das ist hier Usus… from Leif Frenzel and Stefan Schürle (adrena objects). They will present projectusus, which aims to provide Eclipse plugins that derive settings for Eclipse and code quality plugins like Checkstyle and EclEmma. The clue is that the settings try to match automatically what’s a project’s usus.
  • RCP goes Web 2.0 – Eclipse Rich Ajax Platform from Benjamin Muskalla (EclipseSource). Let’s see what RAP has new…

6 talks are really a lot for a DemoCamp. Besides presentations also networking is important at a DemoCamp. Let’s hope there is enough space for talking. Ralph Müller from the Eclipse Foundation will be there (where on the world is he not?), some people from SAP, Heidelberger Services AG, some of my colleagues from itemis, and several others. And it will be the first time I meet Attila Bak in person, who I now from the Fornax Project since some years already, but until now just via email.

Maybe I can met YOU also there? Registering is easy, and the event is free of charge. To register, just enter yourself to the DemoCamp’s Wiki page. To edit it, you’ll just need an account there. If you don’t want to open account just for that, just send me a mail and I’ll add you.

 

9 thoughts on “Eclipse DemoCamp November 26th in Frankfurt

  1. Hi, your blog was pointed out to me for the previous post (the one about the BadLocationException) because I wrote about it in a comment on some blog. I read some posts in your blog and I found them interesting. I have just a small criticism: as your reader I would appreciate to read something about you. Despite this little flaw I will suggest to visit your blog 😀
    Keep posting!

  2. Pingback: Xtext and RAP – wouldn’t this be nice? « Karsten's Blog

  3. Hey there are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying
    to get started and set up my own. Do you need any
    coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  4. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

    • I do not see an option for this in the admin menu. You have to do this somehow on your own. Search WordPress on how to achieve this.

  5. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could
    I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I desire to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

